Words from the Knot House

Happy Mother’s Day!!!

And for my family, this is a very special Mother’s Day indeed; my eldest daughter is about to become a Mother for the first time which means I am about to become a GRANDMOTHER! I wanted to make her something very special to mark the day and I decided to tat her a pair of baby booties that she could keep and hand down to her daughter when the time came. I wanted something simple and elegant. Thankfully, my co-blogger Natalie had the perfect public domain pattern by Mrs. C.B. Platt, originally published in 1916. It is a great pattern but I had a hard time following parts of it. It was a week of tatting, untatting, cutting sections off, retatting, more cutting off, until I was just about ready to let the baby go barefoot forever. Instead, I tatted thru and decided to share my edit of the pattern. You can get a PDF copy by clicking here. Platt Baby Booties Edited

Hope you enjoy and again, Happy Mothers Day!

bootiesmall

(Davina-Marie)

Edited 5/31/2013.  These were made in size 20 Lizbeth thread. When little Lexi was born, her Daddy tried to put them on her right away. Even though she was a teeni tiny thing, they barely fit. You should either make them in a larger thread or add some length to the sole. You can see that post Here.

Comments on: "Mrs. Platts Baby Booties Revisited" (7)

  1. natalekku said:

    It turned out adorable! I’ll have to check out your edited pattern.

  2. Good job!!

  3. […] Thankfully, my co-blogger Natalie had the perfect public domain pattern by Mrs. C.B. Platt, originally published in 1916. It is a great pattern but I had a hard time following parts of it. It was a week of tatting, untatting, cutting …  […]

  4. Thank you for sharing! I scooped your post on to
    Needle and Hook Patterns

    I also pinned it here Needle and Hook Patterns

  5. […] picture following the Mrs. Platt pattern from 1916. You can read more about it and get the pattern Here. My daughter packed them in her hospital bag so Lexi could wear them right after she was born. It […]

  6. […] neighbours who had just had a baby. Having scoured the internet, I found a beautiful pattern on the Shuttlebirds blog that was first published many years ago, but has been updated to make it easier for beginners […]

Tell us what you think!

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 370 other followers

