Words from the Knot House

I love gadgets. Show me a thingamabobber or a whatchamacallit and I will start coveting like a kid covets chocolate cake. Ever since I fell in love with the Aerlit shuttles, I have been looking for someway to avoid having to wind bobbins by hand. My first thought was to try and wind them on my sewing machine, but when I came to my senses, I realized that would be like putting out a match with a firehouse. After looking at some different bobbin winders, I decided that the Simplicity Sidewinder was my new love. As much as I wanted it, I could just not justify spending $30-$35 because i was to lazy to wind them by hand.
Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago when I attended the Shuttlebirds Annual Workshop. There is was, the object of my desire as one of the raffle prizes. (I will write a whole blog on just the giveaways they have at wotkshop.) I put my ticket in on Friday and said a little prayer to the Tatting Goddesses. Finally, Saturday afternoon, they started awarding the raffle items. The people at my table were highly amused at how excited I was at just the idea that soon it could be mine. The first items they pulled tickets for were some shuttle winders. I applauded for the winners but I was not really focused because I was next.
There were 2 bobbin winders. I couldn’t tell you who won the first one, just that it wasn’t me. Once I heard someone elses name, I closed my eyes and started chatting in my head “Please, please, please….”
I hear Patti say, “And the second bobbin winder goes to…” and she reaches into pull out the second ticket and I start chanting softly, “MEMEMEMEMMEMEMEMEMEMEME” and lo and behold, it was ME! At first, I thought I had imagined it, but nope, it is now mine and I will love it hug it and call it George.
If you use bobbins, this is the way to go. Not only does it wind a bobbin in about 30 seconds, the bobbins are wound evenly and hold so much more thread. I put my ball of thread in the top of my Handy Hands Thread Holder, but a small bowl will work too. If I am winding a bobbin that will be cut from the thread, I use the thread guide as instructed. If I am winding CTM, I just skip the guide and put the thread through the tensioner then on to the bobbin. I tie the thread around the bobbin with a long tail. The tail goes thru the whole in the top of the bobbin and I hold it as the bobbin starts to wind. After a second or two, I stop the winder, cut off the tail, and then let it fly.

The Simplicity Sidewinder was really worth the wait. The biggest problem I have with it, is simply that I need a new gadget to covet. Any hints out there? What can’t I love without?
Knot On
Davina-Marie

20130502-121109.jpg

Comments on: "My Favorite Gadget* (this week)" (1)

  1. I’m stealing this to put in the June newsletter. And, I’m always looking for new gadgets to use for door prizes. Gadgets are soooooo much fun!

Tell us what you think!

Tag Cloud

