Words from the Knot House

Lexi 8 hours old

Lexi 8 hours old

tattingfingers Welcome my little Lexi! There seems to be some confusion, my eldest who gave birth to her last Saturday is under the delusion that since she carried her for 9 months, Lexi belongs to her. But we all know she will love Grandma the most. The fun details are as follows:

Born 5/25/2013, 9:50 am
Name: Alexandria Isabella
Weight 6.08
Length 19
Labor: Couldn’t have been easier.

As you can see in the picture, she has the longest, thinnest fingers I have ever seen. Her hands are just perfect for tatting. I can not wait to but her that first shuttle.

Now, lets talk booties. I made the pair in the picture following the Mrs. Platt pattern from 1916. You can read more about it and get the pattern Here. My daughter packed them in her hospital bag so Lexi could wear them right after she was born. It took over 5 minutes to get her tiny little feet squeezed into the booties just long enough to snap a photo. Even as tiny as she is, the booties were too small. I think most of the issue was with the length but it was hard to judge while she was squirming. I think the situation can be solved by adding more length when making the sole at the bottom of each. I am going to work on making her a larger set and will update the pattern when I get some good measurements.

In all the excitement, I lost my tatting bag. Luckily, all it had in it was a single project and 2 shuttles but I didn’t want to have to start the medallion again. When it was found in the laundry I was excited, until I realized it had gone through the washer. The piece that is completed is so soft and loose, I don’t know if I should continue or just trash it for a new one. Have any of you ever had something like this happen? Any suggestions? Please leave your advice in the comments below.

Davina

Tell us what you think!

Tag Cloud

