Words from the Knot House

Wednesday Challenge

Did you now that April 1, 2014 is international Tatting Day? While my kiddos will be celebrating one of their favorite days (April Fools) I am going to celebrate Tatting day by handing out little tatting treats to people I meet that day. Everytime I run low on bobbins, I pull out the paper clips and make little bookmarks. I have handed them out to people I know but my favorite things is to just use them to clip together paperwork I turn in, camp forms, field trip requests, etc, knowing that someone processing a huge stack of mundane paperwork is going to find a little treat along the way.
There are hundreds if patterns out there, just do a search on tatted paperclips or any small motif will do.
I use the large plastic coated paperclips from the Dollar store.
The same designs can be made as cell charms using leashes.
So this is the challenge: Make and give away 10 small tatted items on April 1. If you send in a picture of your 10 items and your address, we will send you 10 yards of the new Lizbeth Twirlz. (Will ship out AFTER workshop)
I look forward to your giveaway stories.
Davina-Marie

Comments on: "Wednesday Challenge" (10)

  1. 1.04 – is going on my calendar to make sure I manage to tat something special! Thank you for this fantastic tip! not sure if I can do 10 different things to give away … but will see if I can spread the contagious effects of tatting craft somehow … 🙂 x

    • They are so fast to make you are going to be amazed. I purposely didn’t add links to patterns because I want to see what people come up with but there is a birdie on Georgia’s site that is just 2 rings, less than 40 do in total.

  2. Sounds like an excellent challenge.

  3. I hadn’t thought of that! I still have some time to decorate a few of those before Tuesday. I’m not sure what I’m doing for the day but I do plan to be out in public for a little while at least.

  4. What a great idea! I will do my best to get ten things tatted before Tuesday. Tatting onto a paperclip is a good idea. 🙂

    • Great. I will take a pic of mine I have ready tomorrow. They are in the trench of the car and it is raining. Don’t want them to get wet (really I don’t want to get wet but we can pretend it is the tastings fault can’t we?)

  5. I have mine ready. Where do I send photo?

  6. oh – just found the email address. sorry!!!

  7. Emma J. McConnell said:

    You all sound like a wonderful bunch of tatters, ( you know what the dictionary says it is) the are of doing nothing. lol But when I am sitting there tatting I am doing something an It is a pretty something. Oh my hubby just like to give me a bad time. I quit tatting for about 5 yrs an have been given a kick start by a friend wanting to use some in a book. But that is down the road. I live in Oklahoma an there isn’t very many tatters in this part of the area. I have taught some an lost contact with them over the years so I never knew if they finish going on to do tatting. Happy tatting.

    • Happy Tatting to you as well Emma! I will continue to enjoy the art of “doing nothing” (that dictionary really needs updated!) You may not have tatters in your area, but you are now connected with us – so you have fellow tatters to tat with now (if only virtually)! I greatly enjoy teaching others how to tat too! ~Natalie

Tell us what you think!